## ORGANISING COMMITTEE

Patrons: Prof Konrad Morgan, Vice-Chancellor, Univ. of Mauritius

Prof Soonil Dutt Dharam Vir Rughooputh, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research, Consultancy & Innovation, Univ. of Mauritius

Prof Bibi Ameenah Firdaus Gurib-Fakim CSK, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Teaching and Learning, Univ. of Mauritius

Mrs Sharda Rekhadevi Issur-Goorah, *Registrar, Univ. of Mauritius* 

### Executive members:

President: Assoc Prof Henri Li Kam Wah, Univ. of Mauritius (Ikwah@uom.ac.mu)

Chairman: Assoc Prof Ponnadurai Ramasami, Univ. of Mauritius (p.ramasami@uom.ac.mu)

#### Secretaries:

Assoc Prof Minu Gupta Bhowon, Univ. of Mauritius (mbhowon@uom.ac.mu)

Assoc Prof Sabina Jhaumeer-Laulloo, Univ. of Mauritius (sabina@uom.ac.mu)

### Members:

Dr Kishore Boodhoo, *Univ. of Mauritius* Dr Prakash Caumul, *Univ. of Mauritius* Dr Nee Sun Choong Kwet Yive,

Univ. of Mauritius

Mrs Vimi Dookhun, Univ. of Mauritius

Dr Fawzia B. Narod, Mauritius Institute of Education

## INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Dr Hassan H. Abdallah Dr Hakima Abou-Bachid Prof Edet F. Archibong Prof Anatoly I. Burshtein Prof Kelly Chibale Prof Aaron Ciechanover Prof Roland Clift **Prof Terry Collins** Prof Michelle Coote Prof Avelino C. Corma **Prof Tony Ford** Prof Norbert De Kimpe Dr Niels F. Henriksen Prof Ole Hertel Prof Roald Hoffmann Prof John Joule Prof Rita Kakkar Prof Zafra M. Lerman Prof Nikolay Lyakhov Prof Peter G. Mahaffy Prof Francisco X, Malcata Prof Lallan Mishra Prof Mala Nath Prof Virendar S. Parmar Prof Annie Powell Dr Nalamolu K. Rao Prof Alaa Salem Prof Henry Schaefer III Dr Mohammad N. Siddiqui Prof Jacqueline Smadja Prof Fredj Tekaia Prof Zhong-Qun Tian Prof Shem O. Wandiga

Malaysia Canada Namibia Israel South Africa Israel UK USA Australia Spain South Africa Belgium Denmark Denmark USA UK India USA Russia Canada Portugal India India India Germany Malaysia UAF USA Saudi Arabia Reunion France China Kenya



International Conference on Pure and Applied Chemistry ICPAC 2010

# Chemistry for Sustainable Development

July 26-30, 2010

MAURITIUS http://www.uom.ac.mu/icpac

## INVITATION

The International Conference on Pure and Applied Chemistry (ICPAC 2010) will be held on July 26-30 2010, in Mauritius. Chemistry is one of the subjects of Science for understanding and explaining makeup and changes of everything that has mass and occupies space. Chemistry has permeated the study of different branches of Science. Therefore, Chemistry has an important role for sustaining development. The Organising Committee has adopted the theme "Chemistry for Sustainable Development" as Chemistry and technological advances can help to improve the conditions of Mankind. The program of this green conference will feature a wide variety of plenary and contributed lectures, as well as poster sessions. This conference will provide a platform for participants to share and discuss latest findings of their research.

It will also be an opportunity for participants to visit the island of Mauritius, famous for its sun, sea and sand.

The Organising Committee would like to welcome academics and researchers in all fields of Chemistry in this conference.

Ponnadurai Ramasami Chairman of the Organising Committee

# TITLES OF SESSIONS

Agricultural Chemistry Analytical Chemistry **Biophysical Chemistry** Chemical Biology Chemical Education Chemical Engineering **Chemical Physics Chemical Safety** Cheminformatics and Bioinformatics Chemistry of Natural Products Computational/Theoretical Chemistry **Cosmetics Chemistry** Environmental Chemistry Food Chemistry **Forensic Science** Industrial Chemistry Inorganic Chemistry Material Science and Nanotechnology Medicinal Chemistry Organic Chemistry Petroleum Chemistry Pharmaceutical Chemistry Physical Chemistry Polymer Chemistry Topics related to Chemistry

## PLENARY SPEAKERS

**Prof Ada Yonath** 2009 Chemistry Nobel Prize Winner, Weizmann Institute of Science,Haifa, Israel.

Prof Terry Collins Institute of Green Chemistry, USA.

**Prof Bibi Ameenah Firdaus Gurib-Fakim** CSK, University of Mauritius, Mauritius.

**Prof Tony Ford,** University of KwaZulu-Natal, Durban, South Africa.

**Prof John Joule,** University of Manchester, UK.

Prof Mala Nath Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, India

### The Organising Committee can be contacted by:

E-mail: icpac2010@uom.ac.mu

The Secretariat Department of Chemistry University of Mauritius, Réduit. Mauritius Office Tel: 00 230 403 75 06 Mobile : 00 230 257 03 15 Fax : 00 230 465 69 28