Home   UoM Website
Home You are here: Home Milestones
Milestones Print

Successes, Milestones and Landmarks


Creation of the University of Mauritius


First Vice-Chancellor (Dr L J Hale)


The College of Agriculture became the School of Agriculture and part of the University


Setting up of the School of Administration

First Mauritian Vice-Chancellor (Dr P O Wiehe)


Unveiling of the foundation stone of the Library

Setting up of the School of Industrial Technology


Inauguration of the School of Industrial Technology Phase I building

Enrolment of first direct entry degree students at the School of Agriculture


Completion of the School of Administration building, Library and new building for the School of Agriculture

First University Diploma Award Ceremony

Coming into effect of The University of Mauritius Act

First meeting of Senate and Council

Appointment of Sir H R Vaghjee as Pro-Chancellor


Completion of a second block of building (Phase I) for the School of Industrial Technology

Inauguration of the University by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II


Appointment of Mr R Burrenchobay as Vice-Chancellor

First undergraduate degree awards conferred by the Schools of Agriculture and Industrial Technology

Start of the Medical Laboratory Technology Programme


Establishment and first meeting of the Court

Installation of the first Chancellor of the University (H R H Princess Alexandra)

Appointment of Mr Justice D Ramphul as Pro-Chancellor

First Honorary degrees conferred on H R H Princess Alexandra and Sir S Ramgoolam, Prime Minister of Mauritius


Inauguration of the Auditorium by Mr P Abelin, French Minister of Cooperation

Launching of the BA (Hons) Administration course

First enrolment in MPhil/PhD Programmes at the School of Agriculture


Start of 4-year BTech (Hons) degree programmes in Civil and Electrical and Electronic Engineering


First batch of graduates from the School of Administration

First Postgraduate Diploma programme (Sugar Technology)

Appointment of Mr Justice R Lallah as Pro-Chancellor


Appointment of Prof J Manrakhan as Vice-Chancellor

Completion of Phase II building of the School of Agriculture and extension of the Library

First MPhil degree award (Mr T Vijiaraj from Sri Lanka)


First award of a PhD (Mr D R Vencatasamy)

Inauguration of the R Burrenchobay Lecture Theatre


First degree awards (BA (Hons) Indian Music) offered in collaboration with MGI


Relinquishment of the post of Chancellor by H R H Princess Alexandra


Setting up of a Computer Centre

Creation of a Department of Law

Appointment of Mr Maurice Rault and Mr A K Gayan as Chancellor and Pro-Chancellor respectively


Inauguration of the SSR Centre for Medical Research


Hosting of the Council Meeting of the Association of Commonwealth Universities

Setting up of the Department of Textile Technology

Manraj Visitorial Report on the University


Appointment of Mr S Bissoondoyal as Pro-Chancellor


Creation of the School of Science

The School of Industrial Technology became the School of Engineering

The School of Administration became the School of Law, Management and Social Studies

Establishment of an “Antenne Universitaire” in Rodrigues

First offer of BEd (Hons) Programmes

First awards of the Bachelor of Laws (LLB) degree


First awards of BSc (Joint Hons) degrees in Pure Science

Start of the BA (Joint Hons) Humanities, Diploma/degree in Computer Science and Engineering and Master of Business Administration (MBA)


Creation of the Faculty of Law and Management and the Faculty of Social Studies and Humanities

The Schools of Agriculture, Engineering and Science became Faculties

Setting up of a Centre for Extra-Mural Studies

Start of modularisation of programmes on a semester basis

Completion of the Textile Building (4000 m2)

Creation of two posts of full-time Pro-Vice-Chancellors in Curriculum Development and Distance Education and in Research and Consultancy

First MBA graduates, in collaboration with the Business School of the University of Bradford


Inauguration of New Academic Complex by the Prime Minister

Relinquishment of the post of Chancellor by Sir Maurice Rault

Start of the application of the credit system

Launching of the Otto-Essien Young Professionals Programme


Appointment of Prof G T G Mohamedbhai as Vice-Chancellor

Launching of the World Bank Higher and Technical Education Project of the Students’ Centre


The University became a member of the Commonwealth Universities Study Abroad Consortium (CUSAC)

Launching of the website of the University: www.uom.ac.mu


The Computer Centre was split into the Centre for Information Technology and Systems (CITS) and the department of Computer Science and Engineering at the Faculty of Engineering

Mounting of the BSc (Hons) Medical Science Programme in collaboration with the Universities of Manchester and Newcastle


Setting up of a University Quality Assurance Team (UQAT)

Setting up of a Consultancy Centre


Launching of the Strategic Plan 1999-2004

Introduction of Transferable Outreach Skills Programme (TOSP)

Launching of the University of Mauritius Student Work Experience Programme (SWEP)


Mock Institutional Audit

First awards of BSc (Hons) Medical Science


Completion of the extension works to the former Students’ Common Room

Setting up of the Virtual Centre for Innovative Learning Technologies (VCILT) and the Centre for Applied Social Research (CASR)


Setting up of the School of Advanced Computing

Setting up of the Quality Assurance Office

First awards of BA Library and Information Science (joint award with Charles Sturt University)


Organisation of the Conference of Rectors, Vice-Chancellors and Presidents (COREVIP) of the Association of African Universities

Setting up of the Lifelong Learning Cluster (LLC)

First awards of BSc (Hons) Nursing (joint award with Middlesex University) and BSc (Hons) Police Studies in collaboration with the University of Portsmouth


Hosting of the Council Meeting of the Association of Commonwealth Universities

Completion of the University Gymnasium

First awards of MBChB in collaboration with Université Victor Segalen Bordeaux 2

The Department of Humanties was restructured into three Departments: English Studies, French Studies and, History and Political Science


Completion of the extension works at the Faculty of Agriculture

Institutional Quality Audit of the University

Appointment of Prof I Fagoonee as Vice-Chancellor

Inauguration of the Engineering Tower

Appointment of Sir R Jeewoolall and Prof S Jugessur as Chancellor and Pro-Chancellor, respectively

First awards of MBBS in collaboration with SSR Medical College

The University became one of the founder members of the University Consortium of Small Island States (UCSIS)


Launching of the Strategic Directions 2006 – 2015

Setting up of Multidisciplinary Centres of Excellence (MCEs)

Installation of Sir R Jeewoolall as Chancellor of the University

Visit of His Excellency Dr A P J Abdul Kalam, President of Republic of India, to the University


Setting up of an Examinations Office

Offer of new MRes in Research Methodology (RM) Programme

First awards of BSc (Hons) Occupational Therapy

Introduction of the Work-Based Learning (WBL) concepts in UoM undergraduate programmes in collaboration with the University of Bradford and the British Council

Participation in the Government Empowerment Programme 2007

Launching of the University of Mauritius Trust

Launching of the Mauritius International Business School (MIBS) and the Centre for Organised Markets (COM) under the aegis of the UoM Trust

Inauguration of the Campus Numérique by the Ministry of Education & Human Resources at the University

Launch of the Eco-Campus Initiative

Naming of a “Planète Mineure” Somanah by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in recognition to the continuing contribution to the field of Astronomy by staff of the Faculty of Science